On their website…

“We are Curlkit
We’re a mix of natural hair and online experts but above all we’re consumers like you and understand how overwhelming and confusing it is to navigate the endless quantity of natural hair products on the market. Despite the huge number of products it is still difficult to find quality products for the woman of color. That is where Curlkit comes in. There has to be a better way to discover products. CurlKit eliminates the need for endless trial and error and wasted money.

We have created Curlkit to help our subscribers sort through the clutter, find new brands, rediscover old favorites.

We want members to find the products and brands that work best for their individual needs while having a bit of fun experimenting along the way!”

Each month, you’ll receive a selection of 5-7 samples that we’ve tried and picked ourselves. You’ll receive anything from pomades and conditioners to natural hair tools, from well-known brands as well as emerging gems. Keep an eye on our growing list of brand partners.”

 

 

Not shown in the picture: Extra samples of Curl Max Curl Pudding,

Twists n Locs Organic Leave in Conditioner & Natural Oil Shampoo and Three Sisters of Nature Natural Lengthening Creme

I jumped on the CurlKit bandwagon last month “Island Splash Edition” Check out this awesome review from another blogger here and I must say I absolutely fell in love and decided to keep the subscription to see what September  has to offer. Right now I have Senegalese twist in (two weeks and counting) and would really love to try it on myself but I’m trying it on my girls instead.

Queen Helene Royal Curl Moisture Rich Conditioner 12oz. Retail price: $7.95 (Full sized product)

Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Cetearyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Methasulfate, Polyquaternium-7, Glycerin, Polysorbate 60, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Extract, Royal Jelly Extract, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Disodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Potassium Sorbate, Sodium Benzoate, Benzyl Benzoate, Hexyl Cinnamal, Linalool, Fragrance (Parfum).

Directions:

After shampooing, apply to hair from root to tip; work through troubled sections with a wide-toothed comb.

     For loose, wavy curls: Rinse out and style as usual.
     For thick, coarse curls: Instead of rinsing, squeeze out any excess. Blot dry with towel before before 
you style.

I’ve only tried this on my 3 year olds hair as a leave in and didn’t like how it felt. It weighed her hair down and had a waxy feel to it. Even though the directions for loose curls (which she has) are to rinse out the product, I thought I’d do the opposite but what the heck, who follows the directions anyways? Haha. But, I will definitely try it as a rinse out.

Not Your Mother’s Knotty To Nice Conditioning Detangler infused with Brazilian Keratin 6 fl. Oz Retail Price $5.99 (Full sized product)

Ingredients: Water, polyquaternium-11, VP/VA copolymer, fragrance, hydrolyzed keratin, panthenol, soyamide DEA, PPG-30 cetyl ether, oleth-30 phosphate, butoxyethanol, amodimethicone, trideceth-12, cetrimonium chloride, PEG-12 dimethicone, propylene glycol, DMDM hydantoin, diazolidinyl urea, iodopropynyl butylcarbamate, triethanolamine, citric acid, blue 1, yellow 5.

Directions:

Spray liberally onto hair. Comb through, starting from the ends working your way up to the roots. Can be used on wet or dry hair.

I tried this on my 3 year old first and well, I kinda liked it. Didn’t like the fact I had to get her hair soaking wet with this stuff in order for her hair to be easily detangled. There’s not a lot of product (6oz) and even though it’s cheap, there are better products out there (Darcy’s Botanical Sweet Cocoa Cream & Nexxus Humectress Luxe Ultimate Moisturizing Leave In spray) that I’d stock up on for her hair.

As for my 12 year old, I did not use it to detangle her hair. I just sprayed her hair and finger detangled with Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl & Styling Milk. Now I must say, the next morning when I styled her hair, it was so soft! Like, her hair is soft but this type of “soft” (as if there are different types lol) was different. I could comb through it without having to wet it. I know it had to be the spray since it was the newest product I’ve used in her hair. I would definitely purchase it for her hair.

The samples that were in CurlKit “Curls Gone Wild” are Twist ‘n Locs Natural Oil Conditioner (x2),  Twist ‘n Locs Organic Leave In (x2), Curl Max Curl Pudding (x2) and Three Sisters of Nature Natural Lengthening Creme (x2).

Now I have two full sized Curl Max Curl Pudding. Got one of each from two events (cant think of the names of them for the life of me though lol). I must be honest though, I really didn’t like it. Maybe because it was very humid out and the smell of the product is so strong, and mixed in with sweat ugghh, gave me a headache! Dont leave out the house with this still wet on your head from the wash n go. It took forever to dry and kept running down my neck. *thug tears* I still have them though. I will see how it works out for end of fall/winter/spring.

What I am most interested in trying out after I take out the Senegalese twist is Three Sisters of Nature Natural Lengthening Creme (actually all of their products). It says specifically on the sample that it’s compared to Miss Jessie’s products. Three Sisters is ridiculously cheap compared to MJ prices as well.

Twist n Loc’s I have never tried and since I have double samples of it, I’ll try it in my oldest daughters hair next wash day.

 

Forgot to mention that there’s a missing product (DPI) that will show up in October CurlKit.

 

Websites:

CurlKit

CurlMax

Twist n Loc’s

Three Sisters of Nature Facebook

(Three Sisters of Nature do not have a website but I did find their products on a BSS “beauty supply store”online site)

PNSbeauty

3 thoughts on “September CurlKit: Curls Gone Wild

Leave a Reply

