Product Review: Soultanicals

About The Company:

Afro Vegan Goodies

Soultanicals is an earthy, self-love collection of hand-crafted, soul-infused, melanin-inspired, body/hair love products made with a unique blend of organic, plant-based, herbal, and African botanical ingredients.

Earthy

Our high-quality botanical line combines our passion for self-love with the holistic culture and traditions of Mama Earth and is 100% toxin-free, cruelty-free, vegan, and free from all artificial preservatives, fragrances and dyes. We maintain our high quality by always being handmade to order and delivered fresh to our customers.

Style

Our style is a reflection of our love for different cultures, traditions and the natural richness of Mother Earth that truly inspires us- and our African perspective of culture, spirit, and lifestyle and design because it is our heritage and who we are.

Our Customers

Made for the funky, earthy, natural-lovin’ individuals who are conscious about what they put on their hair & body. Our products speak to the beauty conscious, self lovin’, culture lovn’, revolutionary & playful spirits who like to stand out with timeless, soul-centric originality.

Unique

Soultanicals brings a new, soulistic concept to the marketplace. A fresh, new approach with a distinct earthy flava. We do not just plan to deliver just another body lotion or hair cream to the marketplace; we strive to produce goodies that awaken the spirit. 

Soulistic

Our products are made the old-fashioned way…by hand and with soul. And because we believe that beauty is skin deep, we honor everyone’s inner beauty with a Soulffirmation- which is included with each order! Our mission is to enrich lives through the fun & pleasure of our products while promoting holistic well-being! 

 Vision

Soultanicals is a natural & pleasurable form of self-love.

d5uP--MwITWbf0w-8OI8jxos136Vd5AkOC3foGSh3j0L to R: Skinny Dippin’ Mango Trippin’ Body Slippin’ Body Poo (love this name)

Dash the Ash Body Balm,  Hershea Love Polishing Fudge, Kinky Silk Tress Milk, Wrapper’s Delight Hydrating Kink Drink

I absolutely LOVE the vegan hair and body care line, Soultanicals! The creator/mixtress/founder Ayo OgunMcCants, was so nice enough to let me try out her body care line after I kept telling her she put her foot in her products.  Lol..

I first found out about Soultanicals around the beginning of summer. Don’t really remember how I came across the brand but the labeling and ingredients reeled me in plus there was a sale so I had to get them. I purchased the Loc n Roll Twist & Fro Out, Fluffalicious Curl Nutricious, Knot Sauce, two of her kink drink sprays (Wrappers Delight Hydrating Kink Drink & Hair Sorrell Knappylicious Kink Drink). I LOVE all of them and thank goodness because I would have been tight buying all that and it ends up not working. Haha. Nicht gut (not good). :\

I have not reviewed those products yet but I will in due time. I have to re-up on a couple of them! :]

QFzigYncBaNkpHdG6-QN-YKwDkj7vurP4bORvUoz25A

q5wCVpBQUbvzh82TR4cW1i57x9ehoF-_uYBXwFyXfSoSkinny Dippin’ Mango Trippin’ Body Slippin’ Body Poo $13

IngredientsSaponfied organic coconut oil, organic olive oil, organic hemp oil, organic jojoba oil, organic shea butter, organic aloe vera, camelina oil, phlalate-free fragrance blend all dipped in LOVE!

Scent: Super juicy!

I really like this body poo! Gives great lather and doesnt dry out the skin. The ingredients had me wondering if I could use this as a shampoo, smh, hail naw. Lol. My hair didnt like it at all. Tried it on my toddlers hair since they have fine textures, that was also a miss. Didnt try it on my teen since we both have the same texture. Her hair is thicker though with tighter curls. So yeah, this product is meant for the body hairs not the one on top of your head lol..

The smell …… the smell is everything! Smells like Sunny Delight with a touch of extra fruitiness.

Would I purchase? I SO would! Skinny Dippin’ smells greats and easy on the skin. That’s a plus in my book. :]

_FKQ0s4vaifiV_vbvafoMWsmnNyhVTWHo9zKeu54yLE

Fo-rhgI2FvAdo-L2e3vOShwGXSXgXlYHJBCWm7yWMYk

10ew-ybs6zGVGAHMPk7nGrc2dqEqVQXVDMosK1ZhaHcDash the Ash Body Balm $10

IngredientsShea Butter, Cocoa Butter, Cupuacu Butter,  Meadowfoam Seed Oil, Castor Oil, Olive Lipids, Tamanu Oil, Jojoba Oil, Baobab Extract, Vegetable Glycerine, Vitamin E, Essential Oil and/or Fragrance Blend, an extra dash of soulistic flava & LOVE!

Scent: Sweet and earthy

The name of this balm says it all! It “dash the ash” like nobodies business. It’s a little on the heavy side so this is perfect for cooler months. The texture is so smooth and perfectly whipped, to me, thats how a body butter should feel like. A great thing about this butter is it doesnt melt easily. My apartment is hella H O T in the summer time and it was left out on the table for weeks. Now it wasnt in solid form however you dont see the oils separating.

As far as the scent, it smells sweet but then there’s an earthiness swirled around it. Its not overbearing but if you have a sensitive nose you may want to stay clear from it.

Would I purchase? Yes!

NJuizuR1L0WXGL2o5GLfii2xXssku1dqeJFlArKjL5U

-0fGcEBQD7u5oTfSvtXyBnEGC3AMz5r7NxocKGXXg7s

p0xoa8josL1aCmQqXR4if82ghoMz0krLp6L5ria8Bx0Hershea Love Polishing Fudge $13

Ingredients: Organic Cane Sugar, Coconut Oil, Macadamia Nut Oil, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Organic Cocoa Powder, Cocoa Absolute, Organic Black Cocoa Butter, Shea Butter, Potassium Sorbate, Phlalate-Free Fragrance and smudges of LOVE!

Scent: Chocolately, get a light whiff of floral (could just be my nose fn up, heh)

If you peeped the pictures above, Hershea Love Polishing Fudge looks so edible but I wouldn’t advise you to eat it though! Reminds me of coffee for some reason. As far as the performance, oh I love it! Makes the skin feel great and super moisturized. This is perfect to use after shaving, perfect for removing dead skin from under the arms, just perfect for making the skin feeling luxiourious. Even though it’s a scrub, I wouldnt suggest you to use it on your face. The cane sugar is coarse so you would easily injure the skin. That being said, be super gentle when using this scrub!

To me, it smells like those chocolate Teddy Graham crackers with a cup of Swiss Miss hot cocoa.. mmm. I do get a hint of floral of floral though. But it works and smells hella delish!

Would I purchase? Yes indeedy!

5MwEVthg29bS-4P9Kf3CrpI3BN2NsrnwcCRDMa_F6Ig

Et_NHMRdBcsfIIZibQSYZxHalA2x3O1hJliCq7PWVokKinky Silk Tress Milk $12 (2oz are $5)

Ingredients: Distilled Water Botanically Infused with Burdock & Marshmallow Root, Certified Organic Aloe Juice, Vegetable Glycerine, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Cetyl Alcohol, Shea Butter, Coconut Oil, Wheat Germ Oil, Jojoba Oil, Jamaican Black Castor Oil, Panthenol, Meadowfoam Seed Oil, Hydrogenated Palm (and) Palm Kernel Glycerides, Hydrolyzed Quinoa, Cocoa Butter, Crambe Seed Oil, Natural, Fragrant & Essential Oil Blends, Potassium Sorbate, Citric Acid & an extra dip of LOVE!

Scent: butter cream and floral..?

Okay so like… my hair didnt like this. :[

I wanted to like it soooo bad since on wet and dry hair, it detangles great but it seems like it evaporates and leaves my hair in a dry state. Not bone dry but not soft, at all. My teen hair likes it in combination with the kink drink and the toddlers hair feel the same sans kink drink. The texture is creamy, smooth but kind of thick. If you squeeze a dollop in your palm and flip your palm over, facing the ground, it wouldnt budge. As far as the smell, I do smell butter cream and I think I get a hint of floral. My nose may not be working right but I swear I smell floral heh. Not overbearing at all and even sensitive noses wouldnt mind!

Would I purchase? Speaking for my girls hair, yes. I may have to try the Curly version to this (Curly Silk Tress MIlk).

9mPKPyi7XnqETCjz7nDZPhDDQ8sU_2lY4F9RcCS5flU

zVlq2iXIi13m7HnGCeCzJLlFpAlN8SUaou4d6emMs9YWrapper's Delight Hydrating Kink Drink $12 (2oz for $5)

Ingredients: Rose Water, Organic Aloe Juice, Herbal Infusion of Horsetail, Coltsfoot & Nettle, Vegetable Glycerine, Flaxseed Gel, Jojoba Oil, Olive Squalane, Crambe Oil, Sorbitol, Vitamin E, Agave Nectar, Grapefruit Seed Extract, Leuconostoc/Radish Root Ferment Filtrate, Citric Acid , Fragrant Oil Blend, & an extra spritz of soulistic flava & LOVE!

Scent: fruity!

This spray is everything and them some. Really moisturizes my tresses and makes it soft not dry nor crunchy. The cons about this is it doesn't work well with certain products Like Camille Rose butters and I believe even Paul Mitchell The Conditioner leave in. I get white balls and residue that looks like baby throw-up.. eeekk!! And the fact that the spray nozzle-straw thingy, heh, isnt long enough to get all the goodness out of this 2 oz bottle. But other than that, it's okay that it only works with it's own products since I love me some Soultanicals and do plan on stocking up come Black Friday.

Wrapper's Delight Hydrating Kink Drink smells fruity but if I have to pick a favorite between this and it's twin sister Hair Sorrell-Knappylicious Kink Drink I would have to choose the latter, smell wise. Hair Sorrell smells sweeter than Wrapper's Delight. I'm speaking for me of course since I like smelling like candy. :]

Would I purchase? I have and it’s etched in my life forever or until Ayo decides to 86 the product (oh I hope not).

So overall as I mentioned earlier I love me some Soultanicals. This line caters to everyone especially for those that like to smell sweet like me. Teehee. The best thing about it is it’s all vegan so can never go wrong with that, right?

Also the prices are perfect for anyone who’s on a tight budget. My wallet has been holding me captive as of late but it due time, once I am ready to see the light of day, lol, I will splurge. Just a little :D

You can purchase and check out Soultanicals at these links:

http://www.soultanicals.com/

https://www.facebook.com/Soultanicals

http://r.sloyalty.com/r/tnmFmJddmukt (referral link)

Oops, forgot that Ayo has sales every Friday. I believe when she has huge sales like 30% OFF she would skip a Friday. 

-

Disclaimer: These products were sent to me to review. I am not affiliated with nor compensated by this company. This review is based on my experience and opinions are my own and quite honest.

5 thoughts on “Product Review: Soultanicals

  1. KinkyCurlyLiebe,

    I just had to drop by and tell you that I am also in love with these products. Right now, I’m crazy about the Knot Sauce (wow!) and the Marula Muru Moisture Guru. That stuff is amazing. I have a few other products in her line that I am waiting to try and review. But so far, so good.

    I hope everything is going well with you and the family!

Leave a Reply

